Random Tidbits from my Journey

I wrote this all on my itouch, to keep me busy and inform you πŸ™‚ It starts in the Minneapolis airport and ends in the London airport.

Sweats guy is on my flight πŸ˜‰ (According my mom and sister he is perfect for me, not only is he cute, but we’re matching in our grey sweats. They really have high standards ;)) The security guy asked if things were ok and helped me with my bags. I couldn’t stop crying. Mina kept trying to come through the security gate. He thought it was all pretty funny. Another security guy laughed about my shoes being tied to my bag haha. They were too heavy for my bag! I can’t get the wifi to work so I’ve just been sitting here crying off and on. I probably look funny… Oh well. The Germans are also on my flight.

I’m worried about the weight of my bag, it’s supposed to be under 12 lbs. It’s definitely not. I’m sick about it. They keep talking about it over the speakers. I’ve just been praying they don’t weigh it. I’m so nervous. Time to go.

Got on fine. No one paid attention to my 3 oversized overweight bags haha. Bullet #2 dodged. (My checked bags were also slightly overweight.) [Update: the lady who sat beside me had to check her bag because it weighed too much. Whew, bullet dodged]

Hahaha the captain just said our estimated flight time is 5 hours 32 mins and 46 seconds.

I can’t believe I’m doing this.

The lady beside me is headed to Bavaria! Haha candy capital of the world! πŸ˜‰ She is going to be hiking for two weeks. She is at least mid 70s. She has backpacked pretty much everywhere in Colorado and hiked all over the world! I really wanna talk to the guy beside me. I saw him in the airport and thought he looked fascinating. Like a world traveler. He’s got shaggy hair and has spent the last several minutes taking pictures out the window. My kinda guy πŸ˜‰ His hairy arms keep touching me though haha.

My ankles hurt… It’s been only 45 mins.

This is all so random πŸ˜‰ At least I’m not crying. There are a bunch of Germans on the flight. Makes me miss you Shooshoo 😦 Jacelyn, I’ve read your letter 3 times.

Sky looks beautiful. Bummed I don’t have a window seat.

This is so cool. Such an adventure. A connection in Iceland … All by me onesy! How very grown up πŸ™‚ I felt a little deprived in the airport without a phone or Internet connection. Hopefully everything goes smoothly in London! I’m writing this on my itouch. It’s easier than I thought it would be. And it corrects a lot of my mistakes πŸ™‚ I am so grateful to my parents and grandparents for getting it for me! I think I’m gonna watch a movie. And try to get my feet up somehow. Maybe Mr. World traveler will help me out :p

All the advertisements on this flight have really got me wanting to go to Iceland!

I will definitely invest in some noise canceling head phones for the way back! This plane is loud! Pretty small too.

It’s weird how hard and how exciting something can be at the same time.

Haha all the Icelandic movies look really cheesy. Or quarky one might say πŸ˜‰ I’m gonna watch something called Adam. Never heard of it. I’m hungry but my food is above me and I don’t want to bother the lady beside me. She’s reading up a storm.

I packed my Vicodin in my checked bags. Mistake #1

I’ve only been gone 3 hours and I wanna talk to everyone at home so badly!

The attendant just said something to me and something flew out of her mouth and onto me! ewww! I hope we get some food…

No food. I miss TAM airlines. I miss having Becca here to put my feet on and share my terere πŸ˜‰

I can’t believe I’m actually on a flight to London right now! To spend 9 months in an English school! Crazy.

He doesn’t seem to mind that his hairy arms keep touching me…

The no-jet-lag pills taste really good. I kinda want to eat them all right now!

“Ladies and gentlemen it appears the entertainment system has decided to take leave from us. We will reset it shortly.” haha. Apparently the Germans didn’t understand cause they sounded disappointed when the system turned off lol.I am enjoying listening to the Germans behind me. I feel so lame for only knowing one language.

This iTouch is so awesome.

… I can’t believe I’m doing this!

I am above the Atlantic right now. Right beside Greenland. Iceland is not exactly on the way to England. Slept for an hour. Gonna try a little more. Didn’t sleep a ton last night. Might be the midnight Kwik Trip run πŸ˜‰

In the Keflevik airport. Haha it’s so cute πŸ˜‰ So small. I’m a little worried … Cause I’m the only waiting at the gate!

Someone else is here now. That’s good. We board in an hour.

I had a lovely last hour and a half with Betty, the lady beside me. She was surprised that they don’t serve any food and was bummed she has to buy unhealthy stuff at the airport haha. She’s 82! And hiking on another continent! She’s from Colorado. We had a nice midnight dinner of Combos, with M&Ms for dessert. Her Dr. Pepper exploded so I gave her my back of tissues and some hand sanitized. She said I just had everything πŸ˜‰ Then we spent a while exploring the maps on the screens. She didn’t get it at all haha. I explained it all to her, several times πŸ˜‰ it was good though. Passed the time and we enjoyed each other’s company. She just started copying everything I did. I turned my screen to Icelandic and when I looked over a minute later hers was in Icelandic too haha. She is a Christian. Her dad was a pastor. She said she loves to study the Bible and finds new things all the time πŸ™‚

I got to go outside of the plane, so it counts. Country count 6 πŸ˜‰ (I.e US, Canada (yes it counts), Mexico (also counts), Brazil, Paraguay,Β and Iceland). Maybe someday I’ll catch up with all my international friends πŸ˜‰

The people left. I’m worried again.

I always get annoyed with the people who get window seats and don’t look out the window!

Forgot gum. Mistake #2.

Sweats guy is still here!

I was right to be worried. They changed the gates. I wasn’t the only one confused. Anyway after going through security and having my passport checked twice I waited at the new correct gate for about an hour.

Real-estate in Vancouver is great right now. It’s cause the Chinese come and can over pay so they bring the prices up. Good to know huh πŸ˜‰ I had a hilarious discussion with a guy from Vancouver in the Iceland airport. He went to the right-wrong gate too. He said last year he booked a flight to London for a great price … Come to find out it was London Ontario hahaha. He said he didn’t even know there was a London ON lol. He’s going to be traveling for a bit over a month all over Europe and South America. Anyway, we really hit it off and had a fun conversation waiting for our flight. So despite the tricky gate situation, I have a good overall impression of Iceland.

Haha the guy beside me tried to steal the window seat but when the other guy got here he called him out πŸ˜‰ I’m in the middle again :/ And the one guy smells weird. It’s a good things the other guy has really strong gum.

We’re delayed 20 mins 😦 it’s bright outside, so despite it being 3 our time and me only having slept not quite an hour, I’m feeling quite awake. May also have something to do with my lively conversation with Mr. Vancouver Real-estate πŸ˜‰

Feels like a long time ago I left Minneapolis. Can’t wait to see dad!

I can hear Mr. Vancouver a few rows up πŸ˜‰ Sweats guy is on my flight. Maybe it was meant to be πŸ˜‰ Someone should tell his girlfriend… (Jace and Charlie, you know what song I’m thinking of)

Still waiting. 20 minutes delayed now. I’m ready to go!

Next time I am taking Vicodin! 😦 and my head hurts. I guess I’ll finish the movie I started on the last flight.

There’s a USB port on the chairs. I am charging my touch. Win.

Everyone’s coughing. Blehh.

Ah, the stragglers are here. Hopefully we can leave soon! Oh good, Mr. Weird smelling window stealing guy has gum now.

Iceland is beautiful. From what I can see anyway. Tried to take a few pics, but I wasn’t supposed to be using an electronic device and it was kinda awkward with the guy by the window…

Huray for sleeping, we’re descending!:) I was just thinking it might be cool to see London from the air bit I’m realizing I probably won’t get to.Β  Because it’s cloudy of course! And probably raining under the clouds. Haha I got my seatbelt all tangled in the guy’s next to me. I’m tired.

Mr. Weird smelling window stealing guy just surfed playing my theme song! πŸ˜‰ Good Life by One Republic. He has his headphones in now though. “Woke up in London yesterday” πŸ™‚ Charlie, I’m listening to Girl Named Tennessee and thinking of you.

We’ve been descending for half an hour…45 mins. Lame.

Seems like you should be able to get wifi in a plane.. You’re so close to the satellites!

When we landed the guy beside me asked if I had been to London, I said no, and he said β€œThis is what we call a sunny day.” It was completely overcast. Nice.

Had some trouble finding my dad and getting through customs, but made it in the end. Now know how to use a payphone. Safe with the Barlows πŸ˜€ More later.

Cheers,

Jalyss

2 thoughts on “Random Tidbits from my Journey

  1. Charlie says:

    You could’ve sang the song to sweats guy…”I know better not to be friends with boys with girlfriends…” πŸ˜‰ Everytime I hear Good Life on the radio, I think of you. πŸ™‚ Hahaha, I hope you picture my little dance when you listen to Girl Named Tennessee. Maybe I’ll do it for you on our date with Needtobreathe on the 20th! I can’t wait to read more about your wonderful adventure Jalysa!

    • Jalyss says:

      That’s the one I was thinking silly πŸ™‚ Of course I picture your dance πŸ˜‰ Ahh! I’m trying to figure out where in the world (country really) I can buy it!

Leave a Reply

